The Why and Wherefore

I Admit Your Jurisdiction

Posted on: May 7, 2008

You know, the problem with naming this blog after a snippet of a Gilbert & Sullivan song is the permanent residence it has taken up in my head. I should have named this blog Moby, or Blue Man Group. Or, say, Fred.

Well, these primary results strike me as the final nail in the coffin for Clinton, which makes me sad. Don’t get me wrong, I think Obama will do just fine, but I’ve been an admirer of hers for years. It’s true she’s fought a nasty battle, but I don’t think for one second that Obama will be able to ride in on his (forgive me) white steed and make Washington a happy place. I think, in the general, he’s going to have to get down here in the mud with the rest of us, and that shine’s going to wash right off. So I hope he has what it takes to hang in there. We know she does.

And yes, Clinton does remind me of my mom. Which just makes me admire her all the more.

I think the most infuriating moment of this primary, for me, came when I was attempting to rein in my mouth at a work lunch. My colleagues now know better than to ask me about politics. šŸ™‚ I was talking Clinton v. Obama and my boss, who is pretty much my age (and male), asked about the “woman thing.” I said, of course it’s a factor in my support for her. He said, “I’m glad you admit it.” As though voting for the first female president was something to be ashamed of.

I was too taken aback to say anything, and that’s probably a good thing, but in my head:

  • When we make 100 cents on the dollar, instead of 77
  • When we have 50% representation in government, instead of 15%
  • When we have 50% representation in the C-suite, instead of 5%

Then, and only then, will it be unacceptable to vote for a female candidate because she’s female. And the same goes for African-American voters. Identity politics do matter, people. It makes a difference, having someone in power who looks like you.

Leave a Reply

