The Why and Wherefore

My Palin Post

Posted on: September 21, 2008

Well, I am long overdue for a post of any kind, but I plead at least half a dozen good excuses. After coming home from a two-week vacation overseas, giving notice at my job, dealing with the dismantling of my bathroom (leak from upstairs) and the death of our refrigerator, and getting engaged, thankfully I’ve had a few things to distract me from the monstrous political sideshow that is Sarah Palin.

Flatteringly, I had more than one person tell me they couldn’t wait for me to get home so they could hear my take on Palin. (I directed them to Rebecca Traister’s fabulous article in Salon, from my previous blog post). Now that her terrifying bounce is diminishing–I never thought I’d say “thank god for the crashing stock market”–I don’t know that I have much to say that hasn’t already been said by a broad assortment of the general public, as well as investigative reporters and bloggers.

Palin is a right-wing troglodyte, Pat Buchanan (for whom she once voted) in a pencil skirt. It’s very frustrating to see Americans so totally swept up by good looks and charm, to the point of completely ignoring anything resembling competence (or lack thereof). McCain has nominated as the understudy to the Leader of the Free World someone who applied for her first passport last year.

McCain clearly believes that women are so gullible (and fungible) that we’ll vote for anyone with ovaries, regardless of her repugnant policy positions. Palin is the Phyllis Schlafly of our time. She is 100% anti-choice (despite describing her knocked-up kid’s *decision* to keep her baby as a *choice*). As mayor of Wasilla, she charged rape victims the full cost of their rape kits.

Even Peggy Noonan, one of the right’s most devoted hacks speechwriters, realizes that Palin’s selection was 100% political, and has absolutely nothing to do with the good of the country, should the 72-year-old nominee keel over.

But, thankfully, after two scary weeks, the poll numbers are evening out a bit. The drunken stumbling of the economy is, frankly, a good thing for Democrats; I’m happy to suffer a bit in the short term if it means getting someone in office who can actually fix the problem in the long term. And anything that takes the halo off of Sarah “I can see Russia from my house” Palin is a blessing, no matter how painfully disguised.

1 Response to "My Palin Post"

Truly a Bitch to Nowhere!

Leave a Reply

